So foolish as to forget.

i-forget.jpg

So this is the first ever grammar post ever!  I hope you’re excited 😛

My friend was so careless as to forget his wallet at my place.

My friend was careless enough to forget his wallet at my place.

Today’s grammar is ‘so [adj] as to [action]’, and other similar usages.

English Baby (Questions Answers)

“so + adj + as to + verb” is not a very common pattern in American English conversation. When people do attempt to use it, though, they often reduce it to “so + adj + to + verb.” The structure changes, but the meaning stays the same.

 

For example, I’ve heard people say ”..if you’re so stupid to buy it..” when they should have said ”…if you’re so stupid as to buy it…”
In the “so + adj + to + verb” pattern, ‘so’ is similar in meaning to ‘very’ or ‘really.’ It intensifies the adjective, so you can say “I was so shocked to read that.” This pattern is much, much more common in spoken American English.

 

If you are so stupid to buy it, then you shouldn’t be complaining.

If you are so stupid as to buy it, then you shouldn’t be complaining.

I was so shocked to read that she decided to retire.

I was so shocked as to read that she decided to retire.

I find that ‘so … as to’ is most commonly used in negative sentences (the … are replaced with negative adjectives).

Some examples…

GMAT Idioms

He was so stupid as to lock himself out of his own house.

(He was stupid enough to lock himself out of his own house.)

If he is so stupid as to do that, he deserves what he gets.

I can’t believe anybody would be so stupid as to forget their passport.

I’m not so stupid as to believe that you are telling the truth.

He was so foolish as to lie to his wife.

Is she so foolish as to believe that?

He was so fearless as to stand between the gunmen and their target.

The reporters were so inconsiderate as to ask the mother that question.

In all of the above sentences, ‘as’ is usually omitted in everyday conversations.

Please make 2 sentences each for ‘so careless as to’, ‘so foolish as to’, and one ‘so [adj] as to [action] of your choice 🙂  And then write each sentence without the ‘as’.

Here’s a funny one.

You know, honey, what confuses me is why someone as bright as you was so stupid as to marry someone as stupid as me.

You know, honey, what confuses me is why someone as bright as you was stupid enough to marry someone as stupid as me.

5.jpg

 

‘go so far as to’ is an idiom that means “proceed to the point of doing something extreme”.  You can check out the definition here.

Examples!

I can’t believe you would go so far as to run 30 km to the store!

He doesn’t always tell the truth, but I wouldn’t go so far as to call him a lair.

Would she go as far as to sell the car before getting his consent?

Surely they wouldn’t go so far as to break in the house?

I wouldn’t go so far as to say that you are completely wrong, but I do not agree with you.

They went so far as to threaten violence if we did not do as they say.

 

88964_600.jpg

Write 5-8 sentences with ‘go so far as to’.

Leave a Reply

